A Week in Review: #13

My weekdays often go by in a blur.. This week not so much.. In addition to receiving some wonderful news from a friend (from the blogosphere) we were also in mourning for the 150 people who lost their lives in the Germanwings plane crash last Tuesday morning. It was especially difficult because on Thursday evening I found out that two of the people aboard the flight were friends of the siblings of one of my friends. I didn’t know them but it hit home so hard that I could have known them. I’m not going to go into the findings of the police or media or even black box. All I want to say is that it is such a tragedy that all of those people lost their lives. I cannot imagine what those families are going through and my sincerest condolences go out to them. We can speculate about its cause based on information accumulated up until this point.. But the only people who will ever know what really happened were those on board – namely the pilot in the cockpit. Again, I don’t want to speculate and I do hope that the families that lost loved ones get answers and closure. I hope they are surrounded by those that they love and people who can love on them during this awful time.

I had a nice weekend..
Yesterday I met up with a friend from church and we went for brunch at an amazing cafe called Forks in Bradford.
[insert photo here..]

photo

I had the Forks hotdog (that included mustard, caramelised onion and chutney) and then added some bacon and homemade fries and a hot chocolate.. It tasted amazing and it was affordable! A great day to start the day! ๐Ÿ™‚
After that my friend and I headed into some shops to have a look around as well as make some purchases.. I ended up buying a grey jumper and a pair of shoes.. That for me is a successful shopping experience!
After that we headed to meet another friend and then went to lunch – at this point about an hour and a half, almost two hours had passed since we first met – I like food but not back to back! So we went to a Carveryย (A carvery is a restaurant where cooked meat is freshly sliced to order) to have lunch – which was delicious before we decided we wanted to go and watch Cinderella. We caught the 3:40pm showing, grabbed some snacks (that was greed.. I definitely wasn’t hungry ha ha) and went into our screen. The movie was great and I highly recommend it! All of this followed by the fact that the clocks went forward an hour this morning meaning we are now officially in spring!
This year is flying by so quickly.. I have so many plans and I am really looking forward to be able to implement them. Right now I’m really loving life. I have this incredible joy and calm and I am so.. Peaceful.
It is supposed to rain all week but that’s okay, come rain or shine I’ll always smile – I do much prefer smiling in the ‘shine’ though ๐Ÿ˜€

Remember to continue to love on those you love and cherish your family and friends. On Sunday morning, Pastor Chad Veach said “You don’t understand good news until you have heard bad news.” This week we unfortunately have had bad news and those families will have to live the rest of their lives without their loved ones. I wish I could hug them all and tell them that everything is going to be alright.. But is it? Families lost mothers, fathers, children, brothers, sisters, uncles, aunts and friends. Value those around you and value your good news.
In this moment I would do anything to break the deafening silence but unfortunately I can’t.

You have left us but will never be forgotten. May you all rest in peace.

~ by originalapplejunkie on March 29, 2015.

8 Responses to “A Week in Review: #13”

  1. I’ve decided to give up flying, it’s way too stressful. I’ve always hated it and I’m not going to do it any more. Travelling should be about seeing where you are going not just getting there after hours of being cramped up in a metal tube with sweaty strangers and circulating farts! From now on its train, ship or driving.

  2. This post brought back memories – some good, some bad, as you well know Apple. But at the end the main though going through my head was ‘we MUST meet up for lunch at some point!’ ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

 
