Day 326..#I Don’t Feel So Good II

I didn’t wake up this morning feeling any better..in fact I felt worse than I did the night before.

I found myself awake and coughing up a storm in the late night (or early morning..I don’t know what the time was but it was dark). I woke up coughing and spluttering and not being able to breathe. I then started to gasp for air because I was still not awake enough to understand why I was coughing.
Soon after the shock of waking up, I realised that I needed to try to breathe and calm myself down before I coughed so hard that I was sick. I managed to do that and kind of fell back to sleep.

When I woke up after what I only can assume was a few hours, I slowly begun getting ready for work. I sat up and I was dizzy, so I closed my eyes inhaled and exhaled a few times and hoped for the best.

I managed to get myself ready and get into work.

I arrived 10 minutes late (which is NEVER my norm..I don’t do late) and apologised to my supervisor, croaking that I wasn’t feeling too good.

Another colleague arrived at 10am, and she was also a little ill as well, so they put us both in the same room and closed the door! It was quite funny!

I cannot even count the amounts of cups of tea that I had today..all I know is that I enjoyed every single one of them, and they soothed my throat for a little while.

 

Before lunch, I sent a friend a text asking if she could make me soup because I was sick.

She messaged me back saying “Yeah, Sure.”

I was over the moon..I got so excited, the coughing started again.

I finished work at 6pm, went home to get changed and headed over to my friend’s house where she began making the soup. I wanted to help, but she didn’t want me to touch anything. She didn’t even want me in the kitchen..then she looked at my sad face and said that I can come in and stand in the corner, as long as I don’t touch anything at all!

So I stood there, watching her cook.

This was the end result:

A soup with potatoes, mushrooms, leeks, garlic, ginger, chicken, carrot (and a lot of other ingredients that have escaped me!)

It was an amazing and incredibly spicy soup that I had to eat quite slowly because I can’t breathe out of my nose, so I had to eat and take time to breathe as well!

She served it with a buttered roll that had been placed in the oven and heated to just the right temperature where it was neither too hot nor too cold.

I’ve told you in previous posts how amazing the people in my life are right?

I’m sure I have..but I’ll tell you again!

I have wonderful and amazing people in my world. Every single one of them are special to me and are appreciated by me everyday!

I can only continue to say thank you, and only hope I am half as good as friend as they are to me.

 

The long day with the addition of a nice winter warmer has made me sleepy..but I think rest is what I need, so I am not going to fight it.

It’s about that time..my bed is calling! 🙂

 

~ by originalapplejunkie on November 20, 2012.

8 Responses to “Day 326..#I Don’t Feel So Good II”

  1. That was very sweet of you friend to fix you soup. Take lots of vitamin C and drink as much water as you cans stand. Oh and keep moving if you can. I think it is good for your lungs to exercise. No, I am not a doctor, just giving some friendly advice. 🙂

    • Thanks for the advice!
      I took a lot of vitamin C, and had water.
      The problem was because my nose was congested, I had to breathe through my mouth and so I just kept getting out of breath really fast!
      I’m glad I’m better now 🙂

  2. sure hope you feel better tomorrow!!!!!

  3. I hope your body heals completely. I just finished with many days of sickness as well and I hope I stay finished with it. Winter sucks I tell yuh

    • You know, aside from the weather, I usually get sick when I’m doing way too much..I think it’s my body’s way of telling me to slow down.
      I was overworked and under rested, believing that there wasn’t enough time to do everything but doing it anyway.
      I think it was nice being slowed down, even though it was for a week and even though it felt horrible.
      Now I’m well rested, I feel I can go on with the remaining workload for this semester..in moderation..and it will be better than if I did it after 3 all nighters in the library and on less than 12 hours sleep between all three days!
      It feels good to be back! Not 100% yet..as my voice is still croaky, but pretty much functioning again 🙂

  4. I’m shocked! Why don’t I have friends like that? I’m sure that if I went to any of my mates’ houses and said “I’m sick, will you make me some soup” they’d probably punch me in the face to take my mind off my illness. Bless em.

Leave a Reply

 
