Day 283..#News..

 

Looking around, every day, we are bombarded with so much bad news.

You know when you try to be happy all the time? I can do that..I do it pretty well I think, but the current state of affairs have got me thinking so much to the point where I’m sad now.

I watch the news every day hoping that maybe today we’ll get some good news, but murder, kidnapping, war, politics and a general disregard of emotion and thought seems to be the order of recent years.

I’m tired of hearing bad news.

 

A friend of mine has written a book that is in its editing stages and has given me a copy to read.

My friend gave me the copy of her book to read in the summer when I wasn’t doing anything. I didn’t forget about it, but at the same time, I didn’t immediately start reading.

As I’ve stated before, I have amazing people in my life, and I have some of the most amazing friends in the world. I don’t have a lot of friends..but the ones I have are enough.

Back to the book.

This friend is a very deep and knowledgeable woman.

If I need to talk about anything, she’s the one I would go to for advice or encouragement. She’s the one that tells me what I don’t want to hear.

I started reading the book after I came back up to University and it made me think. It made me think about how I view myself and my self-esteem.

After realising certain things about myself when I went away to Portugal, I began to try to change these things to make myself a better me.

I’ve had to stop reading, only because I need to think about and attempt to implement some of what I have read and am learning from what she is saying.

This book speaks volumes and I know that when it gets published it will touch lives and help so many people.

 

Good things do exist..even if we don’t hear about them on the news.

There are so many men and women out there, like my friend; who just want to help and support other people wholeheartedly.

I appreciate all of them.

Just because..

 

*I cannot go into details about the book, because it has not been published, so I tried to be as vague as possible. Hopefully you guys get the spirit of what this post has been trying to say..*

 

~ by originalapplejunkie on October 8, 2012.

17 Responses to “Day 283..#News..”

  1. the saying goes, the news post what the public wants to hear, what sells….it is sad, when everyone feels they need to hear the bad over the good. very sad

  2. It sounds intriguing and I can’t wait for when it comes out – I’m sure you’ll be talking about it then and sending us links to get hold of it! 🙂

  3. It’s great to find inspiration in the positive things around us. I have tended to shy away from the news because it’s usually very depressing… I wish your friend success with her venture and hope you continue to enjoy reading it. 🙂

    • Thanks Kate.
      As much as I would love to not watch the news..I have to (or read it) to keep informed.
      But just because such stories are around, doesn’t mean I shouldn’t be positive.. =)

      • You’re dead right, positivity is a powerful thing, especially if you can spread it! And I know you do! 🙂

      • I try to anyway!
        There was a time I went away with someone who I thought was my friend and I think a week into our trip she blew up at me and told me that my positivity makes her sick.
        Needless to say or holiday dulled a bit after that..

      • That is awful! I think positivity is underrated. Okay, let’s face it, Apple, we’re British. We are comfortable with moaning and negativity. So too much cheeriness doesn’t always sit well with folk. BUT it’s really nice to spread a little joy… What a horrible experience. There’s a lot to be said for getting space when you’re away on holiday with people. lol.

      • It was awful..especially as it was my first time in NY, and I didn’t really feel like I enjoyed it..
        I’m a different kind of holidayer..and I think the problem was thinking that we were “friends enough” to go to the other side of the world..

      • It’s a case of ‘live it, learn it’, eh? 😉 I’m sure there are things about the trip that you can look back at and laugh about! (I hope so.) My mum went on holiday with someone she wasn’t ‘friends enough’ with… I should see if she’s ready to laugh at it yet! 😉

      • I can laugh about some things..and I did kind of have a good time..
        Yeah! Ask your mum!

      • I shall do! Watch this space…

      • She says she is able to laugh now, purely at the inappropriateness of her company. They got separated at one point and my mum’s (younger) friend told her off… you have to laugh. 🙂

      • I guess you do have to laugh..ha ha

Leave a Reply

 
