Day 163..#If At First You Don’t Succeed..

Courtesy of Google Images

Failure hurts.

But failure is a part of life.

My problem is that sometimes I let it define me instead of using it as a step-up to do better.

Today I found out that I didn’t pass one of my exams.

I wasn’t too happy.

Okay..so I was livid..but you can’t change what has happened;

I know I studied hard for it,

Maybe not as hard as I *should* have in hindsight,

But in an attempt to balance out my revision, one subject clearly suffered to benefit the other.

But you know what?

It’s okay.

The world will not end..andΒ has not ended.

Failure is the one of the best ways to learn after all..

Everyone fails at something at least once in their lifetime..

If you didn’t..*in my opinion anyway*..how would you succeed??

Failure to me is not trying.

It’s falling down and staying down..

I’ve always been afraid to fail..

That little nagging voice in the back of your mind telling you you’re not good enough.

Today I’ve chosen to stop listening to that and do for myself what I know I am capable of.

If at first you don’t succeed..right?

πŸ™‚

~ by originalapplejunkie on June 11, 2012.

13 Responses to “Day 163..#If At First You Don’t Succeed..”

  1. You know that old saying, “if at first you don’t suceed try, try again”. It always took me a few times to read a book to really comprehend what i was reading when i was younger! I was considered a problem child and kinda of slow in learning. My grades were not good when i graduated high school,but i refuse to let it define me, even when others tried to leave that weight on me. I found out that there are some things we are very good at and some that we are not! But i found that i could improve with a little more effort. In High school considered the most likely not to succeed but in college very different. Do not waste precious moment of your life doing somethings half way, go hard all the time right now and enjoy the fruits of your labor when you finish…you will enjoy your life then even better and you would have shown those who might want to hire you, how much deterimination you really have! Always move forward and do not look back!
    You post was a really good one! Your wisdom will touch many. Thanks for sharing! By the way you remind me of my 17 year old daughter…i am going to show her this when she comes home!

    • Wow..I am flattered!
      It’s something that I sometimes struggle with..the feeling of being inadequate. A failure. It’s hard to understand why sometimes.
      All through high school..I did okay..but when it came to exams..I panicked and at times failed and I took it hard. College was worse. Then University. I thought the cycle would never end..but I realised the potential I had within me was *much more* than I displayed. I held back out of fear of failing. Fear that was so paralysing I would actually plan to fail..not knowing how powerful the words of my mouth were..I’m only just learning that you know..God wants me to trust him..100%..not trusting with the possibility that maybe I may not pass..but 100%..no reservations. My favourite Bible verse is now Proverbs chapter 3 vs 5&6. I write it on top of every exam paper I have and have to trust God to do the rest!
      But I think that the important thing is to not let it become you. That’s what I learn now every time I fail. It’s a part of life..and no matter how disappointed you are in yourself..it happens..and I’m only just learning to accept that..it’s difficult.
      And 17 for me was yesterday! I’m only 22 πŸ™‚
      I pray you have a good day!!
      And thank you for lovely comment!

  2. I love this… I can completely relate! I too need to stop allowing my failures to define me… Those failures represent who I was not who I am.

    • Definitely..and I accept it is a challenge.
      We are not defined by the failures we encounter..but how we choose to react to those failures!
      With God all things are possible love! But you already know this! πŸ˜‰

  3. Reblogged this on .

  4. I loved the quote! Henry Ford is such an inspiring person. Thank you for sharing, and have a lovely day! πŸ™‚

    Subhan Zein

  5. Did you know that Thomas Edison failed 1,000 times before inventing the lightbulb? Look where we are now. Thomas Edison didn’t give up and he lit up our world even after failing so much. The secret is not to give up. You can do whatever God has designed for you to do, if you just step back each time you fail and give it to him, then ask him how you can do it better. I took my driver’s test 4 times, failing 3 of those times for different reasons…too short and the seat wouldn’t move up, broken signal lights, and being too nervous and in tears (thank you to my big brother who told me I was a failure), but my big sister wouldn’t let me give up and when she took me that last time and encouraged me I finally passed it with flying colors. Find those people who encourage you the most, and when you face a failure, talk with them and through their encouragement and God’s help you will persevere and become an overcomer!

    • This is the prayer that I pray!
      Lord, how can I do better..what is it you want me to learn from this? How can I use this to glorify your name?
      I know that God has something in store for me..and no one ever said that this walk would be easy!
      I’m trusting Him because I don’t know how to do anything else!
      Thank for the encouraging and uplifting words..I really appreciate it..

Leave a Reply

 
