Day Ninety-Nine..#My Life, My Love, My All..

It really sucks being ill..

But I feel like I’ve been moaning a lot..so that’s the end of that sentence..

I intend on happily getting better soon..

 

This morning when I woke up..I grabbed my Bible as I do..and started reading my scriptures for the day..

*I’ve just started reading Romans*

Anyway..whilst I was reading..quite a few things jumped out at me..but this particular scripture did far more than the others.

“[16] For I am not ashamed of this Good News about Christ. It is the power of God at work, saving everyone who believes – the Jew first and also the Gentile. [17] This Good News tells us how God makes us right in his sight. This is accomplished from start to finish by faith. As the Scriptures say, ‘It is through faith that a righteous person has life.'” (Romans 1:16-17) emphasis added.

When I was growing up..I used to be ashamed to be called a Christian..well..not ashamed..but it was something I’d rather people saw in me and my actions than actually speaking about it.

I kinda just wanted to fit in with everybody else..I was already different..lol

I think it was when I first arrived at University..I was thrust into a world completely different from the one I had come from..now 200 miles away from home..out of the sight of my parents..and into “student life” I felt in no way inclined to do what everyone else was doing.

I went to parties and other social events in my first year because I was curious..and after my first year soon became bored with the concept. People noticed that I wasn’t like everybody else..and to things unfamiliar, people don’t know how to react..so they make fun of you.

It was all teasing in fun..but I think that’s when I began to realise that people knew I was different..like..I knew people knew..but now..they knew you know..?

Anyway..I started going to a Church in the city and soon found myself very involved..*I’d come from a church where I was involved in various activities..and I’m one of those people that when they do go to church..feel like they have to be involved in something :D..I LOVE to serve..* (and don’t get me wrong..I am not saying if you don’t serve in church that’s wrong..but I just enjoy serving..I learn a lot about myself whilst doing so) I joined the Kids Church (because I adore children and see a lot of benefit in teaching children the ways of the Lord..) team..which involved me serving in that area every three weeks with an amazing team of people..after a while, I also joined the reception team (because I like talking and helping people) which was also on a 3 week rotation..and I also assisted in Conferences and other activities that required help within church..and I absolutely loved it..*still do*

Because I was “so involved in church” whenever people saw me en-route to anywhere..they assumed I was going to church (or to the library..I don’t play with my studies)..and eventually, I started being called “Church Girl” which I didn’t mind..as there were some other names flying around University at that time too!

Now I’ve told you this story because all of that taught me to not be ashamed of the Gospel. The crazy fear that I had that people would laugh at me and stop talking to me and make fun of me was all in my head. I still had friends..and people didn’t look at me differently.

I like who I am..and it’s because of my faith and my beliefs in Jesus Christ that allow me to be me..it allows others to come to me when they need to talk..or if they need anything else..

Being out here in Portugal..I think I would’ve driven myself crazy if I didn’t have faith in the plans God has for me..“plans to prosper me and not to harm me..” Like I’ve stated before (I think) I didn’t even know I would be doing this exchange programme until like after the deadline to apply had passed and I applied because I wanted a change of environment..I wasn’t actually expecting to be here!

I can positively say that if I didn’t do this..I would have missed out on so much. Being here I have spoken to so many more people about the love of God and what He’s been doing in my life and the things I’ve been through..than I ever had back home. Being in a new environment and around new people have allowed me to be more confident in talking to them about God..and surprisingly..all the conversations I have had have been positive ones..

 

In relation to today’s post title “My Life, My Love, My All”..Without God..my life..I couldn’t function in it..I’ve tried living without Him..and things just were not the same..He’s my love because He’s always here for me in every situation..and my all..because I don’t know what I would do without Him..

Now I’m not saying..just because you are a Christian your life becomes a bed a roses..if anything it gets harder..people watch you more closely to see you slip up..you have to deal with temptation and are tested in ways I never even knew I’d be able to overcome..and at times things will happen to you that will make you think you are alone..but you are not. God is there..always has been..always is..

Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen” (Hebrews 11:1)..I have faith that every day..hour..minute..second..God is working behind the scenes on my behalf..and on yours as well.. we just have to believe it.

 

Below is a song by Kirk Franklin, named exactly that..I pray you listen to it and be blessed 🙂


~ by originalapplejunkie on April 9, 2012.

4 Responses to “Day Ninety-Nine..#My Life, My Love, My All..”

  1. very good, thank u for sharing

  2. Nice post! I hope you feel better!

Leave a Reply

 
